New Theatrhythm Final Fantasy details dance into view

by Ben RobinsonJuly 11, 2011

RPG giant to take a sidestep from the usual business with Theatrhythm

Square Enix has just last week announced a Final Fantasy rhythm game, but now details have come to light regarding what it’s all about. The game will be called Theatrhythm Final Fantasy, and will release for the 3DS at this stage.

According to the game’s backstory, the space between the gods Chaos and Cosmos is known as "rhythm", giving birth to the idea of crystals which control music and fill the world with sound. However, forces of chaos have disturbed the fragile peace and the crystal has begun to grow dull. So our warriors set forth to increase the music wave "Rizpo". If that all sounds like complete nonsense, it’s because it probably is.

Regardless, the game will feature three stages from every previous game released, Final Fantasy through Final Fantasy XIII. The three stages are "field", "battle" and "event", which each offering different gameplay modes. Furthermore, all characters will be rendered in a "chibi" aesthetic, with giant heads and tiny bodies. Most popular characters from the series are expected to make an appearance. Characters can level up after stages and collectables like music and movie scenes will be implemented.

Music from past games will be included too; those confirmed are as follows – Clash on the Big Bridge (Final Fantasy V), One Winged Angel (Final Fantasy VII), At Zanarkand (Final Fantasy X) and The Sunleth Waterscape (Final Fantasy XIII).

We here at Vooks are looking forward to "Elite Beat Fantasy" – we hope you are too.

Source: 4Gamer

What's your reaction?
Oh wow!
About The Author
Ben Robinson
Based in the South West of WA. I enjoy most genres and platforms of games, but my favourites are platformers and the Super NES, respectively. I also indulge in reading of DC/Marvel comics and fantasy literature, as well as PC building. I work as an accountant but manage to be an interesting person as well!

Leave a Response